2014 HM Awards winners

09 September, 2014 by
Hospitality Business

2 Crowne Plaza Queenstown concierge Fiona Lawson with her awardIn front of almost 600 hoteliers, industry leaders and major suppliers, the winners of the 2014 HM Awards presented by Sealy have been awarded to some of the Australasian accommodation industry’s brightest stars.

Held at the prestigious Sydney Town Hall last Friday and hosted by television personality Larry Emdur, the HM Awards have, for the 13th time, recognised the accommodation industry’s finest staff, properties, brands and chains across Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific.

Major winners on the night were Marriott International’s Simon F Cooper (Asia-Pacific Hotelier of the Year), Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group’s Peter Tudehope (Australasian Hotelier of the Year), Park Hyatt Sydney (Hotel of the Year), Hilton (Hotel Brand), Accor Hotels (Accommodation Chain) and Sofitel Melbourne on Collins (Environmental Program).

It was a big night for Park Hyatt Sydney, with the hotel also winning Luxury Hotel, while sister property Grand Hyatt Melbourne won the Upper-Upscale Property of the Year award.


It was also a big night for Accor Hotels, with the company winning 10 awards on the night, including: Chain, Meetings and Conferencing property (Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains MGallery), Service to the Community (Schwartz Family Company Hotels), Economy Property (ibis Sydney Airport), Human Resources Associate (John Timson, Academie Accor), Finance Associate (Taurn Abraham, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour), Hotel Engineer (Anton Van Den Brink, Sofitel Melbourne on Collins), Rising Star (Ramiza Hassan, Mercure and ibis Brisbane), New Zealand General Manager (Wouter de Graaf, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour) and Environmental Program (Sofitel Melbourne on Collins).

New Zealand’s other big wins included Eichardt’s Private Hotel Queenstown (New Zealand Hotel), Whare Kea Lodge in Lake Wanaka (New Zealand Lodge), Peppers Bluewater Resort Tekapo (New Zealand Regional Property) and Crowne Plaza Queenstown’s chief concierge Fiona Lawson walked away with the title Concierge of the Year.

The 2014 HM Awards were hosted by HM magazine, presented by Sealy, and co-hosted by AHS, the Blue Mountains International Hotel Management School and Intrust Super.

“HM magazine has again been proud to recognise the industry’s finest hotels, chains and, particularly staff, that have been doing an amazing job over the last 12 months,” said HM magazine Editor-In-Chief, James Wilkinson.

“Sure it’s fantastic when a hotel can be rewarded for its aesthetics, style, design and comfort, but it is the people who work in hotels that give the accommodation industry in Australasia its soul.”

“On behalf of the team at HM magazine and all of our fantastic sponsors this year, congratulations to all of the winners, highly commended recipients and finalists in 2014,” Wilkinson said.

For a full list of winners, visit www.hmawards.com.au.