Christchurch professionals impact local hospitality scene

12 August, 2018 by
Hospitality Business

The finalists for the 2018 Christchurch Hospitality Awards have been announced, with familiar faces and consistently good establishments vying for top spots.

Presented by the Restaurant Association of New Zealand and lead partner Trents Wholesale, the Christchurch Hospitality Awards recognise the outstanding hospitality professionals all making a positive impact on the local hospitality scene. A large number of nominations were received from the industry across 18 categories, recognising those who work hard to achieve excellence in hospitality.

Marisa Bidois, Chief Executive of Restaurant Association says, “The number of nominations received was an endorsement that the industry welcomes the awards as a means to support and recognise each other and is a real tribute to the calibre of talent in Christchurch hospitality. To be selected by your peers as a leader in your category is a great honour in itself”.

Final voting via the website is now open to the industry, closing at 5.00pm on Sunday, 19 August.


The public can also have their say and vote for their favourite establishment via the First Table People’s Choice Award. This will be awarded to an establishment that excels in customer service, consistency in food preparation and delivery, welcoming ambience and style, attention to detail and is always willing to go that extra mile.

The winners will be announced at the awards evening, to be held at Isaac Theatre Royal on Monday, 27 August.

2018 Christchurch Hospitality Awards Finalists:

Meadow Fresh Outstanding Barista of the Year

Ed Tanner, The Anchorage

Devon Boyd, Black and White Coffee Cartel

Zhen XU (Q), Strange Bandit by Luciano

Kailim Renwick, The Birdwood

Hellers Outstanding Café of the Year

Hello Sunday

Little Pom’s

Southside Social

Strange Bandit by Luciano

Jameson Outstanding Bartender of the Year

Sam ‘Bambi’ Barnett, Bangalore Polo Club

Gina Johns, The Last Word

Zac Goy, Red Light District

Federal Merchants & Co Outstanding Bar of the Year

Bangalore Polo Club

Boo Radley’s Food & Liquor


Red Light District

ARA Institute of Canterbury Emerging Hospo Professional of the Year

Kim Proyer, Boo Radley’s Food & Liquor

Aydin Coskun, Red Light District

Abbie Brown, Twenty Seven Steps

Menumate Outstanding Front of House Team of the Year


Twenty Seven Steps


GrabOne Outstanding Manager of the Year

Timothy Swete, Amazonita

James Quinn, Boo Radley’s Food & Liquor

Jo Corkery, Twenty Seven Steps

Southern Hospitality Emerging Chef of the Year

Sarith Seng, O.G.B.

Jamie Jackson, Craft Embassy

Maki Matsumoto, Twenty Seven Steps

Burns & Ferrall Outstanding Chef of the Year

Sam Stewart, 5th Street

Clayton Laidlaw, Baretta

Simon Levy, Inati

Paul Howells, Twenty Seven Steps

Eaton Drink Co Pop Up Establishment of the Year

Indos Loveat

Smokey T’s

Vagabond Chefs

iMonitor Outstanding New Establishment of the Year

5th Street


Terrace Tavern

The Fermentist

OneMusic Outstanding Ambience & Design

5th Street


The Fermentist

Crombie Lockwood Outstanding Central City Establishment of the Year

Craft Embassy

Fat Eddies


Eftpos NZ Outstanding Regional Establishment of the Year

Black Estate

Pegasus Bay Winery

The Bicycle Thief

Harrows Outstanding Restaurant of the Year

5th Street


Roots Restaurant

Twenty Seven Steps

The Recruitment Network Outstanding Caterer of the Year

Eaton Drink Co

The Bespoke Chef

White Tie Catering

McCarthy Outstanding Sales Rep of the Year

Richard Page, Aitkens Hospitality

Megan O’Neill, Hop and Vine

Andrew Johnston, Procure Liquor

NZI Outstanding Supplier of the Year

Good Honest Products


Red + White Cellar