2019 Lewisham Awards finalists announced

14 May, 2019 by
Hospitality Business

There is strong competition in the race for accolades in this year’s Lewisham Awards. Winners receive recognition as one of the top in Auckland hospitality.

The Lewisham Awards recognise each part of the industry that contributes to Auckland’s vibrant and diverse dining and entertainment scene. From restaurant owners to chefs, waiters, baristas, suppliers and establishments.
This year marks the 17th year that the Lewisham Awards will celebrate excellence in Auckland hospitality.

The number of nominations this year has set records, creating an exciting contest to find the winners. This year’s finalists include long established venues and personnel, joined in the top four with amazing new establishments and hospitality stars. This identifies the outstanding standard set by those at the top in the industry.

Finalist voting runs until Tuesday 22nd May. The votes are then counted to find those selected as the top. This will ensure that Auckland’s hospitality stars will be ready to hit the red carpet on  June 3. The industry gathers to support finalists and celebrate winners in true hospitality style at the Pacific Nights themed Awards night.


The 2019 Lewisham Awards finalists are:

Outstanding Waiter sponsored by Crombie Lockwood
Des Dillon – Soul Bar & Bistro
Melodee Pearce – Prego
Eugene Kliushneu – Harbourside & Bistro
Ben Coates – Woodpecker Hill

Outstanding Maitre’ d sponsored by antipodes water company
Trevor Bancroft – Botswana Butchery
Lindsay Swannack – Prego
Leigh Warn – THe Blue Breeze Inn
James Kelly – Euro Bar & Restaurant

Outstanding Bartender sponsored by Winterhalter NZ
Bryan De-Fenyi Pollet – Deadshot
Katie Cramphorn – Coley & Punch
Asa Campbell – My Bar
Barney Toy – Mea Culpa

Outstanding Sales Representative sponsored by Restaurant Association of NZ
Justin Thompson – Bidfood
Crystal McConchie – Southern Hospitality
Jamie Dickens – Tickety Boo
Angie Atkinson – Prophets Rock

Outstanding Wine List sponsored by EuroVintage
Soul Bar & Bistro
O’Connell St Bistro
Botswana Butchery
Peach Pit

Outstanding Supplier sponsored by Hospitality New Zealand
Southern Hospitality
Red + White Cellar

Outstanding Wine Service Professional sponsored by Negociants New Zealand
Edmundo Farrera – La Fuente
Benji Smith – O’Connell St Bistro
Hiro Kawahara – Sid at The French Cafe
Piers Haszard – Harbourside Bar & Bistro

Outstanding Local sponsored by Southern Hospitality
The Tinted Rose
My Bar
The Bramble

Outstanding Caterer sponsored by Hellers New Zealand
Mint Kitchen
On Board Kitchen
Little Wolf

Outstanding Cheap Eats sponsored by CLYTH MACLEOD
The White Lady
Burger Boy
Dixie Barbecue
Judge Bao

Outstanding Bar sponsored by Hancocks Wine, Spirit & Beer Merchants
Parasol & Swing
Hoppers Garden Bar
Mea Culpa

Outstanding Barista sponsored by Meadow Fresh
Jasmine McDermott – Burger Boy
Juno Jung – Atomic Kingsland
Abel Mok – Espresso Workshop
Josh Gair – Fitzroy Lounge Bar

Outstanding Cafe sponsored by Bidfood
Ozone Coffee Roasters

Outstanding New Venue sponsored by Asahi Beverages
La Fuente
Hello Beasty
Saint Alice

Outstanding Establishment sponsored by OneMusic
Soul Bar & Bistro

Outstanding Producer sponsored by the recruitment network
The Lucky Taco
Curious Croppers
A Lady Butcher
Clevedon Buffalo Co

Outstanding Chef sponsored by Loaf
Leslie Hottiaux – Apero
Gareth Stewart – The Nourish Group
Nick Honeyman – Paris Butter
Sid Sahrawat – Sidart|Cassia|Sid at The French Cafe

Outstanding Restaurateur sponsored by Pernod Ricard New Zealand
Michael Dearth – Baduzzi|The Grove
Mandy Lusk – Vivace
Jeremy Turner – Cibo
Nicola Richards – Monsoon Poon

Outstanding Hospitality Personality sponsored by Moët Hennessy New Zealand
Mark Wallbank – The Blue Breeze Inn |Woodpecker Hill |Chop Chop | GoGo Daddy Cantina
Sarah Frizzell – The Lucky Taco
Phil Mead – The Tinted Rose
Ismo Koski – Apero

Tickets are on sale now for the awards evening at The Pullman Hotel  on Sunday 2nd June 2019. For more information or to purchase tickets go to www.lewishamawards.co.nz