Hospitality Business Magazine

Call for entries to the NZ Ice Cream Awards

The Ice Cream Awards, which were instituted in 1997 are being held again this year, promoting the quality of New Zealand Ice Cream. The results will be announced at the Awards Dinner in Auckland on Thursday, 31 May 2018.

The “Best of …” category this year is the “Best of Coconut”. A “New to Market” Award will also be available for a new product launched in the previous 12 months. Last year there were 78 entries eligible for this Award, which shows the depth of innovation in the ice cream industry.

In recognition of the growth in small boutique ice cream and gelato manufacturers, there is a Supreme Award for Large Manufacturers and a Supreme Award for Boutique Manufacturers. The criteria will be determined by the manufacturer’s annual production. A Boutique manufacturer must produce less than 500,000 litres per annum.

Any manufacturer (large or boutique) or individual can enter the New Zealand Ice Cream Awards and will be eligible for the Silver and Gold Awards, however to win a Best in Category or Supreme Award they must be a Member of The New Zealand Ice Cream Manufacturers’ Association (Inc.) (NZICMA) at the time Judging commences. All Gold Award winning ice cream entries from NZICMA Members are then eligible for the Supreme Awards based on their score.

Last year a new Non Dairy category was introduced for products considered as dairy free alternatives to ice cream. There are also separate categories for Low Fat, Gelato and Sorbet to cater for those products that do not meet the Standard or Premium Ice Cream formulation guidelines.

Green Tea and Chai Latte reigned supreme

In 2017 the Supreme Award for a Large Manufacturer went to Talley’s Group Ltd for their Talley’s Export Green Tea. The Supreme Award for a Boutique Manufacturer was awarded to Puhoi Valley Cafe for their entry in the Premium Ice Cream category, Chai Latte Ice Cream.

The Vanilla Ice Cream judging is divided into Standard and Premium Categories which allows Premium Vanilla Ice Cream to be judged separately from other Premium products. The Standard Vanilla Ice Cream category will include products that contain between 10%–10.9% milk fat content, and the Premium Vanilla Ice Cream category will contain not less than 11% milk fat and may contain vanilla additions.

The ‘Open Creative’ category has two sections, Ice Cream and Gelato/Sorbet, and is open to any individual, student or the Research and Development departments of the manufacturers and suppliers. Products entered in this category should not be available for sale in any outlet. Last year’s winner was an ice cream with great flavour balance made by Puhoi Valley Café, called “Puhoi Valley Lemon Cheesecake Ice Cream”.

Judging will take place at The FoodBowl, Auckland in early May. The ’Kids’ Choice’ category will again be judged by local school children.

Last year there were 340 entries coming from a range of large corporate companies as well as small owner operators of retail outlets.

Each Category will be sponsored by an Associate Member of this Association. The categories and sponsors of the 2018 New Zealand Ice Cream Awards are:

1 Standard Vanilla Ice Cream Fonterra
2 Standard Ice Cream Eurofins NZ Laboratory
3 Best of Coconut Davis Food Ingredients
4 Premium Vanilla Ice Cream Formula Foods
5 Premium Ice Cream Chelsea Sugar
6 Export Ice Cream Brenntag NZ Ltd
7 Open Creative Huhtamaki Henderson
8 Kids Choice Pacific Flavours & Ingredients Ltd
9 Gelato Tetra Pak (New Zealand) Ltd
10 Sorbet Alto a division of PACT
11 Low Fat Sensient Technologies
12 Non Dairy Hawkins Watts
13 New to Market Award Axieo

The closing date for entry forms is 19 APRIL 2018.

Products samples must be delivered to The FoodBowl for judging by Thursday, 26 April 2018.

Entry Forms and Rules are available on the NZICMA website and from:

New Zealand Ice Cream Manufacturers’ Assn (Inc)

PO Box 9364, Wellington 6141

Phone (04) 385 1410

Fax No. (04) 384 3980