Rotorua recognises professionalism

19 June, 2018 by
Hospitality Business

The finalists for the 2018 Rotorua Hospitality Awards have been announced, with familiar faces and consistently good establishments vying for top spots.

Presented by the Restaurant Association of New Zealand, the Rotorua Hospitality Awards recognise the outstanding hospitality professionals all making a positive impact on the local hospitality scene. A large number of nominations were received from the industry across 16 categories, recognising those who work hard to achieve excellence in hospitality.

Marisa Bidois, Chief Executive of Restaurant Association says:

“Time and time again we are impressed by the number of nominations received and we see this as an endorsement that the Rotorua hospitality industry welcomes the awards as a means to support and recognise each other. It is a real tribute to the calibre of talent in Rotorua hospitality. To be selected by your peers as a leader in your category is a great honour in itself.”


Winners will receive a coveted “Chevron” trophy, representing a stripe indicating rank or length of service. Winners will also be listed on the Eat New Zealand website, a movement dedicated to promoting New Zealand’s best food, drink and culinary destinations to the world.

Final Voting via the website is now open to the industry, closing at 5.00pm on June 24.

The public can also have their say and vote for their favourite establishment via the Rotorua Lakes Council People’s Choice Award. This will be awarded to an establishment that excels in customer service, consistency in food preparation and delivery, welcoming ambience and style, attention to detail and is always willing to go that extra mile. Online voting is also via the website for both industry and the public.

The winners will be announced at the awards evening, held at the Energy Events Centre on Sunday, 1 July.

2018 Rotorua Hospitality Awards Finalists

More FM Rotorua Outstanding Barista
Ethan Butler, Artisan Cafe
Leroy Cunningham, Market Kitchen
Grace Choi, McDonalds
Andrea Baigorria Germain, Revolver Espresso

Bidfood Rotorua Café
Artisan Café
Lime Caffeteria
Scope Café

Third Place Cafe

Restaurant Association of NZ Outstanding Bartender
Sean Kelly, Atticus Finch
Shaye Honeycombe, Ponsonby Rd Lounge Bar
Rohi Mehla, Rydges Rotorua
Scott Barlow, Stratosfare Restaurant and Bar

Lion Breweries Bar of the Year

BREW Craft Beer Pub

Ponsonby Rd Lounge Bar


Hospitality Management Systems Front of House Team

Atticus Finch
Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant
Stratosfare Restaurant and Bar
Tabasco Emerging Talent – Chef

Bethany-May Allen, Peppers on the Point – Lake Rotorua

Pritam Gaware, Skyline Rotorua

Gill Fursharan, Urbano Bistro

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology – Outstanding Chef of the Year

Phil Elliot, Atticus Finch
Digraj Baghela, Princes Gate Hotel
Mark Solon, Urbano Bistro

Indian Star Emerging Talent – Business

Delhi Hutt

El Mexicano Zapata
Scope Cafe
OneMusic Outstanding Ambience & Design

Ponsonby Rd Lounge Bar
Regent of Rotorua
Urbano Bistro

Restaurant Association of NZ Outstanding Ethnic Restaurant

Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant
The Thai Restaurant
Yamato Japanese

Eftpos NZ Outstanding Restaurant
Atticus Finch
Regent of Rotorua
Urbano Bistro

GrabOne Outstanding Takeout
24b Lunchbar

Pizzeria Imperfetto

The Factory Smokehouse & Grill

Skyline Rotorua Outstanding Sales Rep
Rohan Knowles, Diverse Distributors

Donna Bloore, Jasco Distributing

Tracey Lawrence, Service Foods

Restaurant Association of NZ Outstanding Supplier

Bidfood Rotorua

Diverse Distributors

Service Foods

Events & Venues Excellence in Event Hospitality
Crankworx Rotorua
Rotorua Night Market
The Okere Falls Beerfest