Hospitality Business Magazine

2014 Lewisham Awards finalists announced

Duke Tran (Rad), Suzanne Hemus (Chocolate Brown), Emma Sparks (Twenty Three), Dylan Taylor (Latin Larder)

Duke Tran (RAD), Suzanne Hemus (Chocolate Brown), Emma Sparks (Twenty Three), Dylan Taylor (Latin Larder)

The Auckland hospitality industry has spoken, the votes are in and the finalists for the 2014 Lewisham Awards have been announced. With a record breaking 7,386 votes from their industry peers, the finalists represent the leading lights of the Auckland restaurant scene.

Lewisham Foundation chairman Chris Upton says the number of votes is heartening. “It’s an increase of more than 10 per cent over 2013 which I believe shows the industry is really getting behind these awards,” says Upton. “In particular it’s great to see a mix of older hands and exciting newcomers among the finalists.

“There’s no bigger accolade than one awarded by your peers so to be named a finalist is something each of these people can be very proud of. The Auckland hospitality scene is abuzz at the moment; there’s a great feeling in the industry and this year’s list of finalists is very impressive. I wouldn’t like to be picking the winners,” says Upton. The award winners are announced on Sunday 1 June at a formal event at Shed 10 where more than 700 guests are expected.

And the 2014 finalists are:


Moet Hennessy Outstanding Hospitality Personality

Ganesh Raj, The Tasting Shed

Jeremy Turner, Cibo

Judith Tabron, Soul Bar & Bistro

Mark Wallbank, The Blue Breeze Inn


Pernod Ricard Outstanding Restaurateur

Mark Wallbank, The Blue Breeze Inn

Melissa Morrow, Ponsonby Road Bistro

Michael Dearth, Baduzzi

Sven Nielson, Molten


Gilmours Outstanding Chef

Ben Bayly, Baduzzi

Che Barrington, Moochowchow

Kate Faye, Cibo

Sid Sahrawat, SIDART


Moana Pacific Seafood Emerging Talent

Elizabeth Birch, Eight.Two

Darren Mynes, Monsoon Poon

Jonathan Lefevre, Ortolana


Menumate Outstanding New Venue



Mekong Baby

The Blue Breeze Inn


General Digital Outstanding Maitre d’

Brandon Lela’ulu, Prego

Jenny Kiihfuss, Harbourside

Matt Keegan, Picolli Piatti

Sonya Chan, Molten


Caffe L’affare Outstanding Coffee Establishment / Barista

Twenty Three

Suzanne Hemus, Chocolate Brown

Dylan Taylor, Latin Larder

Duke Tran, Rad


Eurovintage Outstanding Wine List

O’Connell Street Bistro





Angostura Outstanding Bartender

Barney Toy, Fukuko

Dan Sullivan, Montage

Oliver Crosbie, Mo’s

Phil Mead, The Whiskey


Telecom NZ Outstanding Supplier

Mineral Ltd

Zeal Fresh


Neat Meat


Crombie Lockwood Outstanding Waiter

Angie Gunville, Meredith’s

Nick Harding, Baduzzi

Patrick Rhodes, Clooney

Yaeko Kato, Eight.Two


Restaurant Association of New Zealand Outstanding Sales Representative

Angie Atkinson, Ohau Wines

Ben Longhurst, Eurovintage

James Barber, Mineral Ltd

Paul Simmons, Manifesto Wines


Beam Bar Legend Outstanding Bar



The Golden Dawn



One Music> Outstanding Establishment

Monsoon Poon

The French Café

Coco’s Cantina & Bar

Botswana Butchery


Waterfront Auckland Outstanding Local

Elbow Room

Pinot Plus

Freida Margolis

Stafford Road Wine Bar


Rubbish Direct Outstanding Caterer

The Great Catering Company

Urban Gourmet

Mint Kitchen



Negociants NZ Outstanding Wine Service Professional

Edmundo Farrera, Andiamo

Gary Olasz, Clooney

John Logan, O’Connell Street Bistro

Piers Haszard, Botswana Butchery


Keep an eye on the Lewisham Awards website and Facebook page for event updates.