Hospitality Business Magazine

Lewisham Awards celebrate 20 years

Hospitality stars of past and present are set to come together on Sunday October 23 at the Auckland Town Hall to celebrate 20 years of the Lewisham Awards.

Held annually, the Lewisham Awards honour excellence in Auckland’s hospitality community.

Presented by the Lewisham Foundation, the awards shine a spotlight on the establishments and individuals going above and beyond to create exceptional hospitality experiences in Auckland.

Foundation originator and Governance Group member Clive Weston acknowledges that “20 years ago, there wasn’t the diversity of dining experiences in our country that we now take for granted. 

“The progress achieved lies at the feet of our brave and visionary pioneers, many of whom are still operating today. The ongoing pursuit of excellence and dedication to the journey, will ensure that the best is yet to come.”

Nominations will open on Tuesday August 16 for 19 awards – from kitchen to front of house, to suppliers, to establishments and their leaders – all will be celebrated for their contribution in creating a world-class hospitality scene in Tamaki Makaurau.

Awards Committee Chair Vicky Roberts of WineFriend, says that “After a tough couple of years for the Auckland industry, the awards present the perfect opportunity to throw off the shackles, get together with friends and celebrate our achievements “.

Named after the late Richard Lewisham, who was himself a pioneer of the Auckland hospitality scene, The Lewisham Awards were established in 2002 with the main objective to foster excellence in the city’s hospitality community. With this in mind, the best in the business are nominated and honoured by their peers once a year, followed by an after party to celebrate this success.

Past recipients read like the “Who’s who” of hospitality royalty. The first recipient of the outstanding chef accolade was awarded to Simon Wright (then Chef /Patron of The French Café). Judith Tabron (Soul Bar and Bistro) was the very first Outstanding Hospitality Personality. AUT Summer School Director Ted Bryant was the inaugural Lifetime Achiever, an award also bestowed on The White Lady in her 61st year in 2009.

This much anticipated event has celebrated hospitality icons and establishments old, new and enduring for the past twenty years and is all set for the next twenty. To this end, new categories have been created to acknowledge the growth of Auckland’s neighbourhoods.

Final voting will begin on Monday 26 September and winners will be revealed at the event on October 23.

Lewisham Award Categories 2022:

  • Outstanding Bartender
  • Outstanding Front of House
  • Outstanding Chef
  • Outstanding Emerging Hospitality Talent
  • Outstanding Sales Rep/Brand Ambassador
  • Outstanding Supplier
  • Outstanding Producer
  • Outstanding Café
  • Outstanding Coffee
  • Outstanding Cocktail Experience
  • Outstanding Beer Experience
  • Outstanding Wine Experience
  • Outstanding Local Establishment- North
  • Outstanding Local Establishment- South
  • Outstanding Local Establishment- East
  • Outstanding Local Establishment- West
  • Outstanding Local Establishment- Central
  • Outstanding New Venue
  • Outstanding Sustainability
  • Hospitality Hero

The Lewisham Awards are open to all Auckland hospitality operators. For more information regarding the awards please visit