Hospitality Business Magazine

New Zealand Ice Cream Awards to be announced

The Ice Cream Awards will be announced at a Gala Awards Dinner in Auckland on Friday, 26 May 2017, which coincides with the 90-year anniversary of the New Zealand Ice Cream Manufacturers’Association.

Any manufacturer (large or boutique) or individual can enter the New Zealand Ice Cream Awards and will be eligible for the Silver and Gold Awards, however to win a Best in Category or Supreme Award they must be a Member of The New Zealand Ice Cream Manufacturers’ Association (Inc.) (NZICMA) at the time judging commences. All Gold Award winning ice cream entries from NZICMA Members are then eligible for the Supreme Awards based on their score.

This year a new Non Dairy category has been introduced for products considered as dairy free alternatives to ice cream. There are also separate categories for Low Fat, Gelato and Sorbet to cater for those products that do not meet the Standard or Premium Ice Cream formulation guidelines.

Last year the Supreme Award for a Large Manufacturer went to Tip Top Ice Cream for their Hokey Pokey Ice Cream. The Supreme Award for a Boutique Manufacturer was awarded to Puhoi Valley Café for their entry in the Premium Ice Cream category, Matakana Roasted Coffee Affogato Ice Cream made by Puhoi Valley Cafe.

The Vanilla Ice Cream judging is divided into Standard and Premium Categories which allows Premium Vanilla Ice Cream to be judged separately from other Premium products. The Standard Vanilla Ice Cream category will include products that contain between 10%–10.9% milk fat content, and the Premium Vanilla Ice Cream category will contain not less than 11% milk fat and may contain vanilla additions.

Entries are also expected from the Research and Development departments of the manufacturers and suppliers. The judges pick an overall winner across the two sections of this category and last year’s winner was a gelato subtly flavoured with Yuzu infused olive oil made by Gelissimo Gelato called “Lot Eight Yuzu Indulgence Gelato”.

Entry levels in 2016 – 334 entries – were higher than the previous year (302 entries). The “Best of …” category was introduced five years ago and this year the awards will showcase the “Best of Coffee”.

Michelle Sinclair is the Chief Judge assisted by Kay McMath and a team of judges. Judging will take place at The FoodBowl, Auckland in early May. The ’Kids’ Choice’ category will again be judged by local school children.

Want to enter?

The closing date for entry forms is Thursday, 13 April 2017. Product samples must be delivered to The FoodBowl for judging by Thursday, 27 April 2017.

Entry Forms and Rules are available on the NZICMA website and from:

The Executive Secretary

New Zealand Ice Cream Manufacturers’ Assn (Inc)

PO Box 9364, Wellington 6141

Telephone (04) 385 1410

Fax No. (04) 384 3980