Hospitality Business Magazine

The 2016 Lewisham Awards finalists announced

rsz_lewisham_awards-sid-sahrawatThe total number of nominations that have poured in for the 2016 Lewisham Awards have not only surpassed last year’s voting, but have also seen some fantastic new names and faces being put forward.

This year the Lewisham Awards have seen some great changes, such as the addition of the “Outstanding Street Food” category and a new host venue for the awards night, The Langham. This new category is testament to how the industry is forever evolving and embracing new trends and ideas.

The Lewisham Awards recognise every aspect that contributes to the excellence of Auckland’s vibrant and diverse dining and entertainment scene whether it is a new chef, barista, supplier or wine list.

The finalists voting got underway on Tuesday 10th May to select the top 18 hospitality stars and will close for the final count on the Sunday 29th May. This will ensure everyone is ready to hit the red carpet on the Awards night to support all the top finalists and celebrate the winners in true hospitality style.

The 2016 Lewisham Awards finalists are:

Angostura Outstanding Bartender

Lorietta Bahr – Bedford Soda & Liquor

Sai Charan – Rich Heart

Joey Lai – saan

Ian Rielly – The Jefferson

Aotearoa Fisheries Emerging Talent

Ben Black – Clooney

Mishael Coulter – Monsoon Poon

Jade Beguely – Prego Restaurant

Shaaz Croft – The Blue Breeze Inn

Beam Suntory Outstanding Bar

Bedford Soda & Liquor


Xuxu Dumpling Bar

The Jefferson

Bidvest Outstanding Street Food

Dixie Barbecue

Judge Bao

The Lucky Taco

The Roaming Dive

Crombie Lockwood Outstanding Waiter

Katie Winny – Cassia

Ji Sung – MooChowChow

Vicky Pethybridge – Prego

Judika Ramachand – Sidart Restaurant

EuroVintage Outstanding Wine List

Apero Food & Wine


The French Café

The Sugar Club

Fine Food NZ Outstanding Caterer

Collective Hospitality

Dawsons Catering

Mint Kitchen Catering

Urban Gourmet

General Digital Outstanding Maitre’d

Ismo Koski – Apero Food & Wine

Wayne Reese – Baduzzi

Mathew Aitchison – Cassia

Michael Zierler – The Attic Bar & Restaurant

Gilmours Outstanding Chef

Ben Bayley – Baduzzi/The Grove

Des Harris – Clooney

Liam Fox – Fort Greene

Darren Johnson – Masu

L’affare Outstanding Coffee Establishment / Barista

Atomic Coffee Roasters

Cup and Bun

Kokako Cafe Greedy Guts Cafe

Menumate Outstanding New Venue


Little Jimmy

White & Wong’s


Moët Hennessy Outstanding Hospitality Personality

Jeremy Turner – Cibo

Damaris Coulter – Coco’s Cantina

Chris Upton – O’Connell St Bistro

Philip Stack – The Sugar Club

Negociants Outstanding Wine Service Professional

Jarryd Menezes – Clooney

Edmundo Farrera – Ostro Brasserie & Bar

Andy Gladding – The French Cafe

Ann Lau – The Sugar Club

OneMusic Outstanding Establishment


Soul Bar and Bistro


The Blue Breeze Inn

Pernod Ricard Outstanding Restaurateur

Michael Dearth – The Grove

Mark Wallbank – Woodpecker Hill

Martina Lutz – Number 5

Sid Sahrawat – Sidart

ResDiary Outstanding Local

Apero Food & Wine

Conch Kitchen & Bar

my bar

Stafford Road Wine Bar

Restaurant Association Outstanding Sales Representative

Ben Longhurst – EuroVintage

Angie Atkinson – Prophets Rock

Jessie Love – Red & White Cellar

John Meehan – Red & White Cellar

Spark Outstanding Supplier


Loaf Handcrafted Breads


Red & White Cellar

Tickets are on sale now for the awards evening and after party at The Langham on Sunday 5th June 2016. For more information or to purchase tickets go to